Category:Calvary Church of Calvary-St. George's Parish

From Wikimedia Commons, the free media repository
Jump to: navigation, search

The parish of Calvary Church was founded in 1832, and the current church building`at 273 Park Avenue South on the corner of East 21st Street in Manhattan, New York City was constructed in 1848, designed by James Renwick, Jr. The church's two original wooden towers were removed in the early 20th century because of deterioration. The complex also includes the "Renwick Gem", a small building to the north of the church which was built as a theatre but used for that purpose only for a short time, and the Sunday School Building east of the church on Gramercy Park North (East 21st Street), also designed by Renwick, and built in 1867. In 1976, Calvary parish merged with the nearby parishes of St. George's Church and the Church of the Holy Communuion. The Holy Communion buildings were deconsecrated and sold, eventually becoming the Limelight nightclub, and the remaining two churches continued to operate as Calvary-St. George's Parish. (Sources: Calvary-St. George's Parish website, From Abyssinian to Zion (2004), AIA Guide to NYC (4th ed.))

Subcategories

This category has only the following subcategory.

C

Media in category "Calvary Church of Calvary-St. George's Parish"

The following 11 files are in this category, out of 11 total.