Commons:Bots/Requests/Cropbot

From Wikimedia Commons, the free media repository
Jump to: navigation, search

Cropbot[edit]

Operator: Luxo (talk)

Automatic or Manually Assisted: Automatic

Programming Language(s): PHP

Edit period(s) (e.g. Continuous, daily, one time run): Every time if a user crop a file

Bot flag requested: (Y/N): Y

Functions: Crop jpeg-images. User can create a account on the toolserver, which must been confirmed, so you see exactly which user operates the bot. If someone upload a cropped image under a different name, the file is entered in the database of Bilderbot which add a note to the original file at 02.00 UTC. Cropbot crop images with the lossless tool jpegtran.

Discussion[edit]

Is there a reason this does not use TUSC authentication - I thought the purpose of that was to have a general-purpose tool for exactly this reason.  — Mike.lifeguard | @en.wb 13:00, 26 July 2008 (UTC)

Ok, I will create a TUSC support for confirm. --Luxo (talk) 14:37, 26 July 2008 (UTC)
It's now possible to confirm your account with TUSC.--Luxo (talk) 15:21, 26 July 2008 (UTC)
To the reasons I don't use TUSC first: because it give some steps more if you don't have a TUSC account yet. You must enter onemore your username (and project), then you must make a edit in commons, then you must add a password, then you must add the password to cropbot. So for user without TUSC account is the other way faster.--Luxo (talk) 16:58, 26 July 2008 (UTC)

I would like to see this use TUSC before I'd be willing to support. Any bot that does things "on behalf of" others should use TUSC. ++Lar: t/c 20:26, 27 July 2008 (UTC)

You can use tusc already to confirm the account... I add furthermore a function to remove {{remove border}} if desired. see e.g. here.--Luxo (talk) 21:00, 27 July 2008 (UTC)

Does it when asked to crop, create a new version of the image, leaving the old one in place, and crosslinking the information boxes? That would be my preference. In general this seems a handy idea though. ++Lar: t/c 16:42, 28 July 2008 (UTC)

Yes, if I understand your question correctly. If you upload the image under a different name, Bilderbot adds (at 02:00 UTC) a note to the old file, that looks like this (this file wasn't cropped with cropbot). For the new file, Cropbot copy the page of the old file and adds {{RetouchedPicture|SUMMARY|editor=USERNAME|orig=OLDFILE}} at the end of the page.--Luxo (talk) 19:28, 28 July 2008 (UTC)
Any more objections/comments/wishes? --Luxo 19:10, 13 August 2008 (UTC)
I'm not seeing any substantial ones, I'd be inclined to close successful if no one else speaks up soon, this has been open a while, with plenty of chance for comment. ++Lar: t/c 00:48, 14 August 2008 (UTC)
Bot flag granted. Patrícia msg 10:51, 19 August 2008 (UTC)