Commons:Closed most valued reviews/2010/08

From Wikimedia Commons, the free media repository
Jump to: navigation, search

Closed most valued reviews/2010/08

Street skating[edit]

   
Karlsruhe SkateNite 5.jpg
View promotion
Nominated by:
Ikar.us (talk) on 2010-07-16 00:17 (UTC)
Scope:
Street skating
Reason:
Illustrates the character of sports and fun event. -- Ikar.us (talk)
  • Pictogram voting comment.svg Comment Thank you for your full report on Karlsruhe SkateNite :-) For the scope, I'd tend to prefer File:Paris rollers dsc03843.jpg (more a street; shows participants and organizers ; not geocoded but geotag could be guessed (categ "Rue du Temple (Paris)" + signs)). If the concept includes competitive sport, File:Berlin inlinemarathon riesengrppe.JPG could be a competitor too—but maybe "Street skating" is only for the leisure sport? --Myrabella (talk) 23:30, 22 July 2010 (UTC)
    • Thank you for finding many more examples. (I had noticed that there were no good images in the articles and no category and thought I would fill a gap.) Organizers are here, too - those with blue shirts and yellow-red suspenders. One rolling beside the car, two in front of the participants and one on the left, grabbing a traffic cone to place it on the joining lane. About the term: Seems that en: talks about road skating with athletic ambitions, while street skating is for fun. --Ikar.us (talk) 00:18, 23 July 2010 (UTC)
      • Geotag found => MVR set up. --Myrabella (talk) 09:46, 23 July 2010 (UTC)
  • Symbol support vote.svg Support The overall quality is so-so and I found the sound truck too prominent in this view but the argument that this truck can be seen as an extra element illustrating the atmosphere of this kind of event makes sense. Otherwise documented, geocoded and well categorized => OK to me. --Myrabella (talk) 14:14, 3 August 2010 (UTC)

Scores:

1. Karlsruhe SkateNite 5.jpg: +1
2. Paris rollers dsc03843.jpg: 0
=>
File:Karlsruhe SkateNite 5.jpg: Promoted. <--
File:Paris rollers dsc03843.jpg: Declined.
--Yann (talk) 14:30, 8 August 2010 (UTC)
Voting is closed. Await automatic removal by VICbot at 0:18 or 12:18 (UTC)
Paris rollers dsc03843.jpg
View opposition
Nominated by:
Myrabella (talk) on 2010-07-23 09:41 (UTC)
Scope:
Street skating
Reason:
This image shows participants and organizers too and the event is more in a street. -- Myrabella (talk)
  • The event is on the Google image!! --Ikar.us (talk) 10:05, 23 July 2010 (UTC)
  • Pictogram voting question.svg Question Street skating events are often called Friday Night Skating. This explains the atmosphere that is intended, and the sound truck on my image illustrates it. This example looks more like Sunday afternoon promenade to me. Is it like that? --Ikar.us (talk) 10:26, 23 July 2010 (UTC)
    • There are several street skating events organised each week in Paris, see [1]. This one is an occurrence of the event starting from "Place de la Bastille" each Sunday since 1998, IMO, which gathers up to 20 000 persons sometimes (cf short info on fr:WP). I think it can illustrate the definition given in the en:WP article: "Street skating is the practice of roller skating (commonly on inline skates or quad skates) in groups on public roads. Street skates can be formal affairs, with prespecified routes, marshals and, at times, police escorts or ad hoc gatherings of like minded individuals." --Myrabella (talk) 12:34, 23 July 2010 (UTC)
      • Note above street skating is ... on public roads . So being more on a street seems not crucial. --Ikar.us (talk) 14:24, 24 July 2010 (UTC)

Scores:

1. Karlsruhe SkateNite 5.jpg: +1
2. Paris rollers dsc03843.jpg: 0
=>
File:Karlsruhe SkateNite 5.jpg: Promoted.
File:Paris rollers dsc03843.jpg: Declined. <--
--Yann (talk) 14:31, 8 August 2010 (UTC)
Voting is closed. Await automatic removal by VICbot at 0:18 or 12:18 (UTC)


Menin Gate, Ypres[edit]

   
Menin Gate.jpg
View opposition
Nominated by:
Matthew Proctor (talk) on 2010-07-28 04:09 (UTC)
Scope:
Menin Gate, Ypres
  • Sorry, but there's no image that illustrates the subject well for me. I can understand the object by looking at many images in the category, but not by a single image. This one is cropped at the bottom unfortunately. Symbol oppose vote.svg Oppose --Ikar.us (talk) 11:55, 28 July 2010 (UTC)

Symbol oppose vote.svg Oppose Prefer File:Menenpoort.jpg.JPG, it gives a better image of the structure and features. Added geocoding, please change to "camera loc" if possible. Pitke (talk) 13:03, 30 July 2010 (UTC)

Symbol oppose vote.svg Oppose - structure VIs should be day view, rather than night view. --Rastaman3000 (talk) - Visit my new user-page! 15:12, 31 July 2010 (UTC)

Scores:

1. Menin Gate.jpg: -3
2. Menenpoort.jpg.JPG: -2
=>
File:Menin Gate.jpg: Declined.
File:Menenpoort.jpg.JPG: Declined.
--George Chernilevsky talk 06:47, 12 August 2010 (UTC)
Voting is closed. Await automatic removal by VICbot at 0:18 or 12:18 (UTC)
Commons:Valued image candidates/Menin Gate 2.jpg

Vermo race track[edit]

   
Vermo building.jpg
View
Nominated by:
Pitke (talk) on 2010-08-03 09:44 (UTC)
Scope:
Vermo race track
Reason:
Good quality, also currently the best image showing the main building. -- Pitke (talk)
  • Pictogram voting comment.svg Comment The building is useful to characterize and identify the venue among other racetracks elsewhere. But for illustrating such a scope, an image showing the track in use would be better. As Vermo is the main harness racing track of Finland, according to the en:WP article, it would be even more valuable with horses pulling sulkies. In fact, you've made that image, some time ago: File:Vermo sunset.jpg, which fulfills more criterion 3 IMO; it's a pity that it is not of the same quality than the one you've nominated. A "Most Valued Review" could be possible however. --Myrabella (talk) 19:31, 5 August 2010 (UTC)
I might be able to reproduce the angle the other picture features on a coming Wednesday. Pitke (talk) 19:44, 5 August 2010 (UTC)
You can't oppose on the grounds that I can create another photo relatively easily (this isn't even true now that my school's started and all my days are 05-18); the photo satisfies easily the 3:1-3 criteria; if you think the other picture is better, then you should create a MVR. Pitke (talk) 18:36, 11 August 2010 (UTC)
I would set up a MVR if the other view was geocoded. Could you add a geoteg please? --Myrabella (talk) 09:19, 13 August 2010 (UTC)
Done. Pitke (talk) 13:46, 13 August 2010 (UTC)
  • Pictogram voting comment.svg Comment Thanks, MVR set up. I don't oppose hoping a better image by you (of course it would be great if you could do it later :) but because this view doesn't illustrate the fact that Vermo is mainly a harness racing track, which is its main feature. We hardly see the track here, and there are people, but not horses. --Myrabella (talk) 16:20, 13 August 2010 (UTC)
Scores: 
1. Vermo building.jpg: +0
2. Vermo sunset.jpg: +0
=>
File:Vermo building.jpg: Declined.
File:Vermo sunset.jpg: Declined.
-- George Chernilevsky talk 17:31, 18 August 2010 (UTC)
Voting is closed. Await automatic removal by VICbot at 0:18 or 12:18 (UTC)
Vermo sunset.jpg
View
Nominated by:
Myrabella (talk) on 2010-08-13 16:11 (UTC)
Scope:
Vermo race track
Used in:
en:Vermo, fr:Hippodrome de Vermo, fi:Vermon ravirata, sv:Vermo

Vermo is a harness racing track of Finland. This image shows more the race track, with horses pulling sulkies. To me more illustrative for the scope. This image is used in the article about Vermo in 4 Wikipedias.

Pictogram voting info.svg Info -and if memory serves, I added the picture to all of them. Plan was to not replace until it's clearer which is actually the more valuable shot. Pitke (talk) 19:10, 13 August 2010 (UTC)
Scores: 
1. Vermo building.jpg: +0
2. Vermo sunset.jpg: +0
=>
File:Vermo building.jpg: Declined.
File:Vermo sunset.jpg: Declined.
--George Chernilevsky talk 17:32, 18 August 2010 (UTC)
Voting is closed. Await automatic removal by VICbot at 0:18 or 12:18 (UTC)

Frankfurt am Main[edit]

   
Cityscape Frankfurt 2010 panorama crop.jpg
View promotion
Nominated by:
Der Wolf im Wald (talk) on 20:15, 17 August 2010 (UTC)
Scope:
Frankfurt am Main
Reason:
Shows all important parts of the city and has the best quality in scpoe. There is already an valued image in the scope, but I think this image is definitely better. -- Der Wolf im Wald (talk)
  • Pictogram voting question-blue.svg Request To compete with the present VI, you have to open a Most Valued Review. For the existing VI, "the original VIC subpage is re-opened for voting by changing its status to status=discussed and new reviews are appended to the original VIC subpage. However, any original votes are not counted within the MVR." All details on Commons:Valued image candidates#How to open a Most Valued Review. --Myrabella (talk) 20:36, 17 August 2010 (UTC)
  • Thank you for the advice! -- Der Wolf (talk) 20:59, 17 August 2010 (UTC)
  • Symbol support vote.svg Support I still guess that it would be appropriate to have an image including the Main river for that scope. However, compared with the present VI, I support this challenger because it depicts a larger part of the town, carefully documented with annotations. At the review size, this geocoded QI looks good on-screen (although I tend to prefer the rendering of the other image). Last point, it is well categorized => OK to me, all criteria met. --Myrabella (talk) 08:31, 25 August 2010 (UTC)
MVR Scores:
1. Cityscape Frankfurt 2010 panorama crop.jpg: +1 <--
2. Cityscape Frankfurt.jpg: 0 (current VI within same scope) 
=>
File:Cityscape Frankfurt 2010 panorama crop.jpg: Promoted.<--
File:Cityscape Frankfurt.jpg: Declined and demoted to VI-former. 
--Myrabella (talk) 17:24, 27 August 2010 (UTC)
Voting is closed. Await automatic removal by VICbot at 0:18 or 12:18 (UTC)
Cityscape Frankfurt.jpg
View opposition
Nominated by:
Der Wolf im Wald (talk) on 20:15, 17 August 2010 (UTC)
Scope:
Frankfurt am Main

Pictogram voting info.svg Info This image is the present VI, now rediscussed because there is a new challenger in a new MVR.

Please add new comments and votes below:

  • Pictogram voting comment.svg Comment The image notes on this picture still add value... --Myrabella (talk) 11:10, 18 August 2010 (UTC)
  • A few minutes ago, I added all notes in the other picture too;) -- Der Wolf (talk) 15:21, 18 August 2010 (UTC)
MVR Scores:
1. Cityscape Frankfurt 2010 panorama crop.jpg: +1
2. Cityscape Frankfurt.jpg: 0 (current VI within same scope) <--
=>
File:Cityscape Frankfurt 2010 panorama crop.jpg: Promoted.
File:Cityscape Frankfurt.jpg: Declined and demoted to VI-former. <--
--Myrabella (talk) 17:24, 27 August 2010 (UTC)
Voting is closed. Await automatic removal by VICbot at 0:18 or 12:18 (UTC)