MediaWiki talk:UploadForm.js/Documentation

From Wikimedia Commons, the free media repository
Jump to: navigation, search

Uploading new versions of images[edit]

I'm regularly repairing pictures für the commons from different lists (watermarks, borders, caption etc.). Now I am forced to fill in the data by hand even in the old mask, when I want to upload the new version and I will not do that stupid work for one single picture. I dislike the new design, it's against the workflow and the usability is zero. --Mbdortmund 11:41, 29 May 2008 (UTC)

The form shouldn't do that. I tried it just myself on different browsers, and it doesn't. If, however, you have Ajax disabled such that it cannot detect whether you will indeed upload over an existing file, it will ask for the information. What browser do you use? On IE, allow ActiveX to run (Ajax uses ActiveX on IE6). Lupo 11:47, 29 May 2008 (UTC)
When you enter the filename (at the Commons), does the form display, just above the "upload" button, an image thumbnail and a box saying that you are about to overwrite an existing file? (That's already a feature from the old form, it has nothing to do with the new form!) If so, the form should really not insist on its fields being filled out. Lupo 12:00, 29 May 2008 (UTC)
Does the form explain what needs to be filled out for uploading new versions of images over old ones? Otherwise people may see this long form, and not even begin. They may decide it's not worth the effort. --Timeshifter 20:36, 10 June 2008 (UTC)
No, it doesn't. It doesn't require any input at all (except a source and destination file name) in this case, since none of the input will end up on the image description page anyway. The preview displays a message saying so. I'll think of a solution. Lupo 20:45, 10 June 2008 (UTC)
At English Wikipedia more and more of the upload documentation is now at semi-protected status versus fully-protected status. A lot more is getting done now. And it is getting done a lot faster. If there was a paragraph of documentation that was transcluded onto the upload page when people click on "Upload a new version of this file" the problem would be solved. Especially if it was only semi-protected, and there was a link to that doc page from the talk page for that upload form. I created a couple tables of upload form links at the top of these pages:
Commons talk:Upload and w:Wikipedia talk:Upload
I also need links to the actual transcluded upload forms, and their talk pages, too.
I upload new versions of images on the commons, and so I now know it is simple. But I remember how intimidating it was the first time I tried. Here is an image I have uploaded new versions of over time:
Image:Incarceration rates worldwide.gif --Timeshifter 21:00, 10 June 2008 (UTC)
  • ✓ Done Overwrite warning improved: warning text is shown right beneath the destination file field if the chosen filename would overwrite an already existing file (and the form can detect that). Lupo 08:32, 11 June 2008 (UTC)

Please indent license selector to the left[edit]

At the "my own work" upload page I can't read all the options in the dropdown license selector. Some of the options extend past the right side of the screen and there is no way to scroll to the right to read those options.

Maybe the license selector can be indented to the left. Since it is also the most important part of the form it might help to make it stand out this way. --Timeshifter 22:04, 10 June 2008 (UTC)

Discussion at MediaWiki talk:UploadForm.js. Lupo 08:30, 11 June 2008 (UTC)

Upload of series of pictures with the same description[edit]

I'm often uploading series of pictures with the same description. So I use the back-button of my browser to use the description again for the next pictures. Now the script overwrites the description and creates a warning that the picture already exists. Can I stop that? --Mbdortmund (talk) 23:17, 12 June 2008 (UTC)

Hm, it should not overwrite the description. In the basic form (with the old layout), it relies on the browser's cache to have the old values restored. If the browser doesn't have the page in its cache anymore, then you'll get a fresh form. In full mode, the script saves the form values to a cookie and restores them from there. That cookie expires after 30 minutes, so if you hit the back-button after that, you'll also get a fresh form.
I just noticed that IE6 does apparently not remember form values. Or at least it re-executes the script. (Firefox doesn't do so.) I'll try adding the cookie mechanism to the basic form, too. Working on it... Lupo 06:01, 13 June 2008 (UTC)

List of completed localisations?[edit]

Is there a list of completed localisations? Rd232 (talk) 00:52, 12 June 2011 (UTC)