Alexander Henry Haliday (1807–1870)

From Wikimedia Commons, the free media repository
Jump to: navigation, search

Early Years[edit]

Dublin[edit]

In Dublin there are of public collections, the Ordnance Museum, Phoenix Park, good in various departments of Vertebrata and Invertebrata; the Royal College of Surgeons Museum in which Mr J. V. Thompson’s collection of Crustacea is preserved;Trinity College containing the late Mr Tardy’s fine collection of insects added to by Dr Coulter; Natural History Society [founded 1843] Zoophytes, etc.; Royal Dublin Society, Vertebrata and Invertebrata;Miss M. Ball’s Insects chiefly and Shells; Mr Warren’s, very fine in Shells and Birds; Dr Farran’s, also very fine in Shells and good in Birds; Dr Bellingham’s in Entozoa; Mr Egan’s in Insects; Dr George Allman’s in Freshwater Zoophytes and Mollusca Nudibranchiata and Mr O’Kelly’s in Shells.Natural History of Ireland 1843

Lucca[edit]

Library[edit]

Letters and manuscripts[edit]

Drawings[edit]

Plates[edit]

yet it is a duty I owe to the public that my writings should be wound up and revised and clearly systematized. I am well aware that the time which you are able to set aside for entomology is already fully occupied yet I cannot refrain from requesting your assistance. My descriptions of Darwin’s Chalcides are printed and will be published immediately. I have all the specimens in my possession and I will forward them to you together with all my own collection and they will be speedily followed by all the remnants I have left. You are quite welcome to retain mine as long as you feel inclined and what I ask of you is in plain words that you will point out my errors, supply my omissions, reunite the species that I have cut up and divide into groups the over-populous and disordered genera. Your drawings of the genera would be most suitably accompanied by such an Essay …..letter Francis Walker to Haliday July 29 1839.

Collecting localities[edit]

Taxa[edit]

Some Italian insects[edit]

Nevertheless it is not a week since Colias, Hipparchi, Vanessa, Polymmatus, Pterophorus, Xanthia and some Tineina were out, dragonflies hawking even over frozen pools, Locusts and Chrysopa, Hemerobius etc and Chrysomela americana and its larva to be found abroad on the Lavandula stoechas, now out in second bloom; while the spring flowers, janquils and pasque flowers, by the wayside are meeting the lingering flowers of Autumn. If the operation of moving and some other engagements leave me time I am tempted to take another flight up to Abetone , the pass on the Appenines into the Modenese to see what the fir and beech-woods are like in their greatcoat of snow which peeps so brilliantly over the lower range of the Emiliano intervening there and Lucca.

Friends[edit]

Charles Darwin[edit]

Mr Darwin (grandson of the celebrated doctor Darwin) who has been travelling for the few past years through the E and W coasts of South America and the Pacific Isles and N. Holland and has made numerous interesting discoveries in geology and zoology—has lately returned to England with his collections—He has entrusted the insects to Waterhouse who will describe the Coleoptera. I was so interested in the chalcidites that I have acceded to W's request that I should describe them. He is at a loss what to do with the Muscidae, Ichneum adscits, Thrips (of which there are some titans half an inch long) etc—and wishes me to offer them to you to describe in whatever Ent work you please, he would like to have an answer soon. I think you will find them very interesting and we can easily send them to you. Francis Walker Arnos Grove Southgate 8 March 1837 ... to Haliday.

Other[edit]