Commons:Wiki Loves Africa 2016/Media

From Wikimedia Commons, the free media repository
Jump to: navigation, search

Press information about Wiki Loves Africa 2016[edit]

Wiki Loves Africa (WLA) is an annual contest where people across Africa can contribute media (photographs, video and audio) about their environment on Wikimedia Commons for use on Wikipedia and other project websites of the Wikimedia Foundation. Wiki Loves Africa particularly encourages participants to contribute media that illustrate a specific theme for that year. Each year the theme changes and could include any universal, visually rich and culturally specific topic (for example, markets, rites of passage, festivals, public art, cuisine, natural history, urbanity, daily life, notable persons, etc).

Theme for 2016[edit]

The theme for the 2014 photo contest was Cuisine. In 2015 it was Cultural Fashion and Adornment.

The contest in 2016 is the third year of this proposed annual contest and the theme is Dance and music.

How the competition is organised[edit]

The project is a two-month competition which will start on the 1st December 2016 and end on the 31th January. The project will run across the entire continental. However, there are ten groups of Wikipedians that have volunteered to host specific actions (training, upload events, communications, etc.) in their countries. These ten countries are Tunisia, Egypt, Ivory Coast, Uganda, Nigeria, Algeria, Tanzania, Ghana, Cameroon, and Zimbabwe. In addition, there are several groups of individuals within Africa, and Wikimedia groups outside Africa that are also involved.

The project is a contest where, after the contest closes, the best media at the continental level are selected and prizes are awarded. An international jury will determine the best entries for the continental competition. Where there are local organising groups, they will decide to organise (or not) judging and local prizes for their country.

Wiki Loves Africa is supported by WikiAfrica, hosted by Ynternet.org and is funded by the Wikimedia Foundation via a PEG grant.

Winners and prizes[edit]

There will be 4 winners. 3 pictures will be chosen by an international jury and a 4th one will be selected by the Wikimedia Community. The prizes are yet to be announced.

Press contacts per country[edit]

This space aims to link press contacts where available.

  • Africa: Isla Haddow-Flood: isla@wikiafrica.net
  • Europe: Florence Devouard: fdevouard@anthere.org
  • Algeria: Mohammed Bachounda: bachounda@gmail.com or Reda Kerbouche: press@wikimedia-dz.org
  • Côte d'Ivoire : Evrard Aka : evrardaka1@gmail.com Stephane Kra: stephanekra2@gmail.com Donatien Kanga: donatien.kanga@gmail.com
  • Nigeria: OLushola Olaniyan and Olatunde Isaac :Olaniyanshola@yahoo.com: reachout2isaac@gmail.com
  • Cameroon: Georges Fodouop: georges_fodouop@yahoo.fr or Aminou Ndala TITA: aminou20022001@yahoo.com
  • Tunisia: Emna Mizouni: emna.mizouni@gmail.com
  • Uganda: Mulumba Ivan matthias: mimulumba@gmail.com
  • Ghana: Stella Agbley: sagbley@gmail.com and Raphael Berchie: rberchie@gmail.com
  • Tanzania: Maryam Mgonja: maryam.mgonjah@gmail.com and Steve Bukulu: stevebukulu@gmail.com

List of press releases[edit]

Reports in the media[edit]

Blogs