Commons talk:License review

From Wikimedia Commons, the free media repository
Jump to: navigation, search

Name[edit]

"License review" should really be called "license verification" or something similar. While the intent of this page is to verify licenses at their source, especially to note when an irrevocable license has been declared (for posterity), many times items are tagged for this page just to get a second opinion on the license (read: to have someone "review" the truth claims of a license). There are other forums for that. Changing the name of this page should help avoid those misunderstandings. czar 16:33, 9 June 2016 (UTC)

Or "license confirmation". Thoughts? czar 20:42, 28 March 2017 (UTC)

PDreview template tweak[edit]

I've edited the PD review template {{PDreview}} so it shows passed files in the same green color as {{license review}}. Previously it was an annoying tan color. Reventtalk 15:35, 23 December 2016 (UTC)

Adding the ability to mark others' edits as patrolled to license reviewers[edit]

I noticed that license reviewers without the patrol right cannot patrol others' edits. Since patrolling new files is now possible, I think it would be good to add the patrol right to the "image-reviewer" group. This is necessary because LRs reviews files from external sources, and mostly they are uploaded by non-autopatrolled users. Having the ability to patrol would help reduce the patrol backlog and let other patrollers know that the image is already reviewed. There are some LRs who are "technically" not patrollers, like BU Rob13. What do you think? Poké95 00:53, 24 December 2016 (UTC)

How many LRs who are not patrollers are there? Ruslik (talk) 19:28, 25 December 2016 (UTC)
Currently there are 233 license reviewers; 93 of them have also "patroller" right, 140 not (including 9 bot accounts).<DB query results> --XXN, 22:50, 25 December 2016 (UTC)
Ok, I have nothing against this proposal. Ruslik (talk) 20:13, 26 December 2016 (UTC)
This seems sensible to me, but will have to be done via a Phab ticket (as it's a server configuration change). Reventtalk 22:43, 30 December 2016 (UTC)
Yeah, of course, but I want to gain consensus first before filing a Phab task. Well, I can file a task now if you want. Poké95 01:30, 31 December 2016 (UTC)
I'd hope to see a few more responses (a wider consensus) so I'd suggest giving it a few more days. Hopefully most LRs are watching this page. Reventtalk 00:11, 1 January 2017 (UTC)