The Alamo
Appearance
|
This is an image of a place or building that is listed on the National Register of Historic Places in the United States of America. Its reference number is 66000808 (Wikidata). |
|
This place is a UNESCO World Heritage Site, listed as
San Antonio Missions.
|
1836 major battle of the Texas Revolution | |||||
| Upload media | |||||
| Instance of | |||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Part of | |||||
| Location |
| ||||
| Start time |
| ||||
| End time |
| ||||
![]() | |||||
| |||||
-
The chapel of the Alamo Mission is known as the "Shrine of Texas Liberty"
-
2011 view of the Alamo and surrounding area
-
Interior of the Alamo Mission chapel in 2025
-
Today, the site of the Alamo Mission is a museum
-
entrance
-
Old well and oak tree in courtyard of the Alamo
-
A stone memorial to the 32 men from Gonzales who perished at the Battle of the Alamo
-
Plaque on a wall at the Alamo, recognizing ownership by the state of Texas and custodianship of the Daughters of the Republic of Texas
-
A plaque posted in remembrance of the contribution of the Alamo by Clara Driscoll to the state of Texas
-
Cactus shrub adjacent to the main building at the Alamo
History
[edit]-
This is one of the first drawings depicting the Misión San Antonio de Valero. It was created in 1838 by Mary Maverick and shows statues within the niches
-
1854 drawing – The Alamo chapel would have looked something like this in the 1830s
-
The Fall of the Alamo, painted by Theodore Gentilz in 1844, depicts the final assault
-
Drawing of the Alamo Mission, published 1846
-
Alamo Plaza in the 1860s
-
Mercantile firm Hugo & Schmeltzer operated a store on the site in the 1880s
-
Theodore Roosevelt giving a speech at the Alamo, April 7, 1905.
-
Interior of the Alamo, San Antonio, Texas about 1904 looking toward the front entrance
-
Interior of the Alamo, San Antonio, Texas (postcard, c. 1907–1914)
-
Interior Alamo, cannon, San Antonio, Texas (postcard, c. 1901–1914)
-
Colorized postcard c. 1910
-
Under six flags, Alamo, San Antonio, Texas (postcard, circa 1915–1924)
-
This 1907 postcard entreated citizens to Save the Alamo
-
The Alamo and Downtown San Antonio c. 1920. In the center of the surrounding area are the remains of the "Long Barracks" which had been covered by the Hugo and Schmeltzer building

