User:Motacilla

From Wikimedia Commons, the free media repository
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Self-portrait, 29 September 2021
Babel user information
en-N This user has a native understanding of English.
de-1 Dieser Benutzer beherrscht Deutsch auf grundlegendem Niveau.
fr-1 Cet utilisateur dispose de connaissances de base en français.
Users by language

Interests and uploads[edit]

My interests include wildlife, merchant shipping, canals, public transport, motorcycles, history, architecture, modern languages and photography.

My wildlife interests include birds, butterflies, dragonflies and other animals. However, I seldom manage to take photographs better than Wikimedia Commons already has, so it would be superfluous for me to upload them here.

I contribute photographs of buses, most of them photographed in Oxfordshire.

I used to contribute photos of villages in Oxfordshire and elsewhere, and particularly their vernacular architecture and parish churches. Due to the behaviour of other Commoners in this area, I have all but ceased contributing photographs in these subject areas for the foreseeable future.

Categorisation[edit]

Wikimedia Commons has almost innumerable uncategorised or badly-categorised photos. I now spend more time categorising other people's photos than contributing my own.

This seems particularly true of photos copied from Geograph, which also seems to be one of the World's largest repositories of bad photos: poor exposure, poor composition, light in the wrong place, and in many cases no apparent subject. Many of Commons' public transport photos are of comparably poor quality, and especially those copied from Flickr.

The fact that a bad photo has a copyright waiver that allows it to be copied to Commons is not a reason to copy it. But now that tens of thousands of bad photos have been copied, they need to be correctly categorised to make this website more navigable.

Contact[edit]

I am fluent in English, fairly good at German, get by in French and know rudimentary Spanish, Polish, Czech and Russian. If you send me a message in German or French please keep it simple so that I can understand! My English Wikipedia userpage is here.

Territories etc. visited[edit]

Flag of the United Kingdom.svg Civil Ensign of the United Kingdom.svg Flag of England.svg Flag of Scotland.svg Flag of Wales.svg Flag of Cornwall.svg Flag of Northern Ireland (1924–1953).svg Flag of Ireland.svg Flag of Germany.svg Flag of Hamburg.svg Flag of Lower Saxony.svg Flag of Saarland.svg Flag of North Rhine-Westphalia.svg Flag of Hesse.svg Flag of Baden-Württemberg.svg Flag of Bavaria (striped).svg Flag of East Germany.svg Flag of Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania (state).svg Flag of Brandenburg.svg Flag of Berlin.svg Flag of Saxony-Anhalt.svg Flag of Saxony.svg Flag of Austria.svg Flag of Switzerland.svg Flag of Denmark.svg Flag of Sweden.svg Flag of the Netherlands.svg All Frisian flag (Scandinavial model).png Flag of Belgium.svg Flag of France.svg Flag of Italy.svg Flag of Spain.svg Flag of Catalonia.svg Flag of Aragon.svg Flag of Castilla y León.svg Flag of the Basque Country.svg Flag of the Canary Islands.svg Flag of Portugal.svg Flag of Madeira.svg Flag of Malta.svg Flag of Greece.svg Flag of Corfu.png Flag of Cretan State.svg Flag of Romania.svg Flag of Transylvania (Local).svg Flag of Hungary.svg Flag of Bulgaria.svg Flag of the Kingdom of Slavonia.svg Flag of Slovenia.svg Flag of Slovakia.svg Flag of Moravia.svg Flag of the Czech Republic.svg Flag of Poland.svg Flagge Preußen - Provinz Schlesien.svg Flagge Preußen - Provinz Oberschlesien.svg Flag of Krakow.svg Flag of the Soviet Union.svg Flag of Turkey.svg Flag of Palestine.svg Flag of Israel.svg Flag of Senegal.svg Flag of Bermuda.svg Flag of the United States.svg Flag of New Jersey.svg Flag of Ohio.svg Flag of Maryland.svg Flag of Missouri.svg Flag of Colorado.svg Flag of Arizona.svg Navajo flag.svg