User talk:Zhuyifei1999

From Wikimedia Commons, the free media repository
Jump to: navigation, search


This is a Wikimedia Commons user talk page.

This is not an article, file or the talk page of an article or file. If you find this page on any site other than the Wikimedia Commons you are viewing a mirror site. Be aware that the page may be outdated and that the user to whom this talk page belongs may have no personal affiliation with any site other than the Wikimedia Commons itself. The original page is located at

This is the user talk page of Zhuyifei1999, where you can send messages and comments to Zhuyifei1999.
  • Please sign and date your entries by clicking on the appropriate button or by typing four tildes (~~~~) at the end.
  • Put new text under old text.
  • New to Wikimedia Commons? Welcome! Ask questions, get answers as soon as possible.
  • Click here to start a new topic.

বাংলা | български | čeština | Deutsch | Deutsch (Sie-Form)‎ | English | español | français | hrvatski | italiano | 한국어 | മലയാളം | português | русский | sicilianu | 中文 | +/−

  • Be polite.
  • Be friendly.
  • Assume good faith.
  • No personal attacks.

Dear Bot... :)

I don't know how to add by myself to queue a list of files for checking again. I uploaded them from Flickr and added: "SparkFun_" at the start of each filename. Source was corrected: --Jasc PL (talk) 11:19, 2 March 2018 (UTC)

  • SparkFun_breakout-board-for-thumb-joystick_16096160437_o.jpg
  • SparkFun_breakout-board-for-xbee-module_16096160657_o.jpg
  • ... (cut)
I've reset the review status, the bot should go over them soon. --Zhuyifei1999 (talk) 16:09, 2 March 2018 (UTC)
@Jasc PL: The bot does not accept photo sets as sources. Exact photos like is required. It's currently unable to find the photos from a set. --Zhuyifei1999 (talk) 16:12, 2 March 2018 (UTC)
@Zhuyifei1999: Thanks, I will fix them all, now. --Jasc PL (talk) 11:56, 3 March 2018 (UTC)

Some another problems

If could I ask some more questions, a bit higher level now :). I'v asked in some places, at the admins board also, but without effects. First of and fresh problem is:
1. I uploaded File:SparkFun Electronics Logo (3864434503).jpg with proper license (but in description they mention NC also) from their official Flickr account. Later I found w:File:Sparkfun logo.svg at enwiki, moved it to File:Sparkfun logo.svg in Commons and edited both file pages, but I feel all that was made improperly. Could you check and fix what is needful - or revert all my changes and move this file properly? Maybe my small .jpg could help to "legalize" SVG we have (it looks like it's derivative from that JPG - compare dates), then can be removed.
2. I know already how to easy recategorize a big set of files with the Cat-a-lot, but have no idea how and with which tools can I:

  • list and edit selected file pages; something like user Uploads, but with all details and some of them in editable fields
  • add / remove / replace items inside many file pages at one time? I'm uploading a lot of files, not only for my projects, so both things are very important to me.

3. Could you rename Category:Raspberry Pi by model to Category:Raspberry Pi boards by model - without, or with redirection if needed? I'm afraid to renaming this category myself.
4. I have also any idea how to manually sort images visible in Category, e.g. how to put derivative logos below official in Category:Raspberry Pi logos?
I hope my above questions don't disturb you, greetings --Jasc PL (talk) 23:13, 13 March 2018 (UTC)

  1. Vector version is usually preferred over bitmaps, especially JPEGs, see {{BadJPEG}}. I tagged the JPEG with {{vector version available|Sparkfun_logo.svg}}
  2. Do you mean COM:VFC or COM:AWB?
  3. I can, but I personally don't see the reason to. Could you explain the rationale for the rename?
  4. What you want is probably a category sort key
--Zhuyifei1999 (talk) 00:01, 14 March 2018 (UTC)
Excellent, you are really great @Zhuyifei1999:! So little words - but so rich of solutions! :)
1. Sure, I'v uploaded this small jpg because there was nothing in Commons. I understand, that now svg file can be officially used? Do you checked also w:File:Sparkfun logo.svg page and all my editions there? Sorry for this question, but I don't want to leave a clutter so other people must clean.
2. AWB - that's much more than I need today and all I will need in the near future! Should I put myself on the requests for registration list? VFC - is not in my preferences; I'v enabled it manually - looks like very useful for most of everyday simple operations. I will check also all another scripts mentioned on AWB page.
3. There are several serious reasons: I'v created many subcategories under main Category:Raspberry Pi; I take steps to all of them (also category tree) should have an explicit, exact, consistent, common used so easy to gues and find names (yes, some of them I must correct). "Raspberry Pi boards" mean Pi minicomputer boards - not so called "shields" or "hats" that are also boards - but completely different. I can do it myself of course, maybe I'm too carefully with a long existing category names.
4. I'v used sort keys, but only with categories - now I have tools to fast and easy using it with big amount of filers also - thanks to you! Warm greetings, --Jasc PL (talk) 20:44, 14 March 2018 (UTC)
  1. I'm not as familiar with English Wikipedia as much as I am with Commons. It would be best for you to ask someone there for their opinions.
  2. You can apply for AWB if you want, though I must warn you about mass edits: be careful with them, check the diffs before applying them, not after.
  3. ✓ Done. Renamed the category itself and moved the subcats.
  4. No problem. Glad to help ;) --Zhuyifei1999 (talk) 03:15, 15 March 2018 (UTC)
First of all - I am sorry that your talk page is a target of vandalism nowadays.
AWB: I fully understand possible consequences of wrongly using this tool, so I will be more than careful.
VCF is very powerful and handy tool, but I still need a solution - how to list selected (now 31 subcategories) end edit them in one place manually, partially by copy-paste some elements and the rest by hand. Is AWB the only solution? Maybe one of hundred Magnus scripts helps?
I have also a specific problem with further linking subcategories in Category:Raspberry_Pi_operating_systems. My idea was to create that subcategories for placing screenshots concerns only that (small) parts of Linux distros that are compiled to run under Raspberry Pi and, as a reference, main distros categories under them. Unfortunately, this scenario generates problem on the main distros side; my "internal" subcategories are visible there under shortened and some ambiguous names. @Apalsola found that yesterday. Is any way to optimal solving this on both sides?
Another thing concerns VCF:how and where to find regex for (automatically generating requests) renaming filenames like [badname with letters and/or digits and various length] [(Flickr image number)].xxx to [proper name] [(Flickr image number)].xxx - e.g. "2015-05-12-174208 1824x984 scrot (17377836630).png". Yes, I forgot to doing this by upload :(
Thanks in advice for your help :) --Jasc PL (talk) 13:30, 17 March 2018 (UTC)
VFC is able to operate on paged specified by a gallery page. We used to use a tool called catscan2 for that, but now it's replaced by petscan. Changing the output format into gallery should be doable by selecting PagePile > Plain text, and you can save the list to a sandbox page.
I'd say the distro category should be a parent category of the RPi category. If a user wants to see what the disto looks like for non-RPi platforms, they do to the parent category.
Do you have a mapping of either [badname with letters and/or digits and various length] or [(Flickr image number)] to [proper name]? VFC doesn't support changing the parameters during the run, but if a mapping is available it should be possible.
--Zhuyifei1999 (talk) 16:53, 17 March 2018 (UTC)
@Zhuyifei1999: - remember that I'm some familiar with IT, software and similar things, but I'm also some new user. So, If you write to terse, I may have some problems with understanding you :)
  • I have generated a list of files (thanks to you). I can prepare what is needful in external editor but don't know how that "mapping" should looks like and where in VFC I should put them. OK, this time are only 20 files, so I could simply paste {{Rename}} on each file page - but it may be very helpful for me next times, and with much bigger amount of files.
  • Now the hierarchy of categories is: Raspberry Pi > Raspberry Pi operating systems > DistroName on RPi > DistroName (main category).
You proposed: DistroName (main category) > DistroName on RPi < Raspberry Pi operating systems - isn't It? So, in this scenario I must rename all "DistroName on RPi"'s to "DistroName on Raspberry Pi" (on? on the?) - like that? --Jasc PL (talk) 19:06, 17 March 2018 (UTC)
Making mapped replacement can be... complex (need to mess with parser functions and substitutions, in the worst case, lua). If you have a concrete example I can play with it to see if I come up with a solution.
Yeah that is exactly what I propose. I'm not an expert on English grammar so I have no idea if 'the' should be added ;) --Zhuyifei1999 (talk) 19:32, 17 March 2018 (UTC)
Lua? Great! I'm only advanced user - not a programmer :). OK, here is your mapping - (1)tab delimited.
Category tree: your and @User:Apalsola proposal are theoretically correct of course, but practical, sorry, have no sense - loosing completely usability. We are all working for regular users, reaching Commons from e.g. Google > images - they don't know what is "category" here, and that they should scroll down at the end of page and click on some kind of link (example: Category:Arch_Linux_on_RPi). Is any other way to see DistroName (main category) under the DistroName on RPi? --Jasc PL (talk) 00:26, 18 March 2018 (UTC)

Prepending this worked for me:

|2015-05-12-173449 1824x984 scrot (17377647898).png=Ubuntu MATE 15.04 - Raspberry Pi 2 (17377647898).png
|2015-05-12-173532 1824x984 scrot (16945102133).png=Ubuntu MATE 15.04 - Raspberry Pi 2 (16945102133).png
|2015-05-12-174208 1824x984 scrot (17377836630).png=Ubuntu MATE 15.04 - Raspberry Pi 2 (17377836630).png
|2015-05-12-174515 1824x984 scrot (17539054866).png=Ubuntu MATE 15.04 - Raspberry Pi 2 (17539054866).png
|2015-05-12-174713 1824x984 scrot (17379100559).png=Ubuntu MATE 15.04 - Raspberry Pi 2 (17379100559).png
|Busy (25356042302).png=Ubuntu Mate 15.10 - Raspberry Pi 3 - Busy (25356042302).png
|Connect-to-server (25381625291).png=Ubuntu Mate 15.10 - Raspberry Pi 3 - Connect to server (25381625291).png
|File-manager (25474499405).png=Ubuntu Mate 15.10 - Raspberry Pi 3 - File-manager (25474499405).png
|Interfaces-1-Wire-Enable (35139159480).png=* to remove
|Libreoffice (25356041562).png=Ubuntu Mate 15.10 - Raspberry Pi 3 - Libreoffice (25356041562).png
|Pi-Config-1 (35358582572).png=* to remove
|Project3 (16810526967).png=* to remove
|Python3 (35358582962).png=* to remove
|Resources (25178906160).png=Ubuntu Mate 15.10 - Raspberry Pi 3 - Resources (25178906160).png
|System-monitor-system (25106932889).png=Ubuntu Mate 15.10 - Raspberry Pi 3 - System monitor system (25106932889).png
|Screenshot-Control Centre (25448355496).png=Ubuntu Mate 15.10 - Raspberry Pi 3 - Control Centre (25448355496).png
|Screenshot-Sonic Pi (25106932979).png=Ubuntu Mate 15.10 - Raspberry Pi 3 - Sonic Pi (25106932979).png
}}|2|Not descriptive|user={{subst:REVISIONUSER}}}}

(Although I made the mistake of not adding a linebreak immediately after.)

I'm sorry if you feel offended by my mention of lua. It's the worst-case solution where all all else fails. In this case looks like parser functions are enough.

Regarding category tree, the standard workaround to ease a reuser navigating is by adding text to the category page itself. I agree that using parent-categories is not intuitive for a reuser, but unfortunately having a reverse hierarchy don't solve it completely either: what if a user comes from say, Category:Debian and wants to see Debian on RPi? The current hierarchy has more logical sense, though, if you have other suggestions to make categories more visible to reusers (besides adding links to the category wikitext), feel free to propose it (though I must say that implementing can be much harder than proposing). --Zhuyifei1999 (talk) 00:54, 18 March 2018 (UTC)

Many thanks for your comprehensive answer User:Zhuyifei1999! Now, we have 2:30 AM here, so I probably, should go to sleep :). I will continue tomorrow :) --Jasc PL (talk) 01:31, 18 March 2018 (UTC)

A barnstar for you!

Special Barnstar Hires.png The Special Barnstar
Happy five years on Commons! ~riley (talk) 06:07, 9 March 2018 (UTC)


Hi. I have been trying to upload a movie via Video2Commons and keep getting the following error message: Error: An exception occurred: IOError: [Errno 1] Operation not permitted: '/data/project/video2commons/video2commons/frontend/static/uploads/5092ff80-2619-11e8-9b7a-0242c0a89b0b'

Sorry to bother, but could you please clarify what I might be doing wrong? Thanks a lot! --Joalpe (talk) 17:28, 12 March 2018 (UTC)

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/data/project/video2commons/www/python/venv/local/lib/python2.7/site-packages/flask/", line 1639, in full_dispatch_request
    rv = self.dispatch_request()
  File "/data/project/video2commons/www/python/venv/local/lib/python2.7/site-packages/flask/", line 1625, in dispatch_request
    return self.view_functions[rule.endpoint](**req.view_args)
  File "/data/project/video2commons/www/python/src/../../../video2commons/frontend/", line 461, in upload
    return _upload()
  File "/data/project/video2commons/www/python/src/../../../video2commons/frontend/", line 64, in upload
    result, kwargs = handle_full(f, permpath)
  File "/data/project/video2commons/www/python/src/../../../video2commons/frontend/", line 78, in handle_full
  File "/data/project/video2commons/www/python/venv/local/lib/python2.7/site-packages/werkzeug/", line 2657, in save
    dst = open(dst, 'wb')
IOError: [Errno 1] Operation not permitted: '/data/project/video2commons/video2commons/frontend/static/uploads/d5e7a8aa-261b-11e8-9de1-0242c0a89b0b'

Most likely phab:T189018, I'm looking into it. --Zhuyifei1999 (talk) 17:38, 12 March 2018 (UTC)

Thanks for looking at this! This is the video I am trying to upload. I have it on full format , 21 giga!-- or a smaller version, .mp4, 225M. I tried both and none worked! --Joalpe (talk) 18:15, 12 March 2018 (UTC)
@Joalpe: Should be fixed now. Thanks for reporting :) --Zhuyifei1999 (talk) 20:07, 12 March 2018 (UTC)

Tech News: 2018-11

19:44, 12 March 2018 (UTC)

Dear Bot

Thanks for the warning. I've already signed all my publications. Best regards

Nuno Vaz Correia (talk) 17:36, 14 March 2018 (UTC)

First structured licensing conversation on Commons


The first conversation about structured copyright and licensing for Structured Data on Commons has been posted, please come by and participate. The discussion will be open through the end of the month (March). Thank you. -- Keegan (WMF) (talk) 17:26, 16 March 2018 (UTC)

Serious problem with User:Reclus wrongly editions !

I accidently observed completely wrong replace editions that destroyes existing data - about 200 category pages was affected: Special:Contributions/Reclus. One of examples: Category:OpenBSD --Jasc PL (talk) 02:27, 19 March 2018 (UTC)

See Commons:Village_pump/Proposals#Proposal_to_bot-deploy_Wikidata_Infobox --Zhuyifei1999 (talk) 02:32, 19 March 2018 (UTC)
You mean - someone runs a bot with not tested config in production environment?? It's not a feature - it's mass-vandalism! --Jasc PL (talk) 02:48, 19 March 2018 (UTC)
No, I mean what it is doing may not be controversial. You should contact the person doing the edits instead of me, unless it is clear-cut vandalism. --Zhuyifei1999 (talk) 02:50, 19 March 2018 (UTC)
You checked above OpenBSD diff? Sure, I started from this notification. --Jasc PL (talk) 03:01, 19 March 2018 (UTC)