User talk:Pc3021

From Wikimedia Commons, the free media repository
Jump to: navigation, search


Welcome to Wikimedia Commons, Pc3021!
Afrikaans | Alemannisch | العربية | Asturianu | Azərbaycanca | Беларуская (тарашкевіца)‎ | Български | বাংলা | Català | Čeština | Dansk | Deutsch | Deutsch (Sie-Form)‎ | Zazaki | Ελληνικά | English | Esperanto | Español | Euskara | Estremeñu | فارسی | Suomi | Français | Frysk | Galego | עברית | हिन्दी | Hrvatski | Magyar | Հայերեն | Interlingua | Bahasa Indonesia | Íslenska | Italiano | 日本語 | ქართული | 한국어 | Latina | Lietuvių | Македонски | മലയാളം | मराठी | Bahasa Melayu | Plattdüütsch | नेपाली | Nederlands | Norsk bokmål | Occitan | Polski | Português | Português do Brasil | Română | Русский | Scots | Slovenčina | Slovenščina | Shqip | Српски / srpski | Svenska | Kiswahili | தமிழ் | ไทย | Türkçe | Українська | Vèneto | Tiếng Việt | 中文 | 中文(简体)‎ | 中文(繁體)‎ | 中文(台灣)‎ | +/−

-- 18:10, 22 September 2011 (UTC)

Uploading a higher/ original/ full resolution[edit]

…is both a welcome and minor fix. So please feel encouraged to simply upload a new version of a file. You find the link for uploading a new version directly below the file revision table:

If you are unsure, you can read our guideline at: COM:OVERWRITE (replacement with higher resolution versions of the same file is listed as an example of an acceptable situation). In case something went wrong with your upload (e.g. broken file [happens occasionally]) you will be still able to revert to the previous file.

Thanks in advance and happy uploading. This will save us admins time we have to spend processing duplicate files. -- Rillke(q?) 14:34, 17 November 2012 (UTC)

Thank you very much for the information. I will keep that in mind. -- Pc3021 (talk) 13:44, 18 November 2012 (UTC)
Just to be sure, with the new files already here, would it still be helpful if I would upload new versions of the old file? I think I should then remove the duplicate tag from the original file and put it on the new file. Could you please confirm? Thanks in advance. -- Pc3021 (talk) 14:00, 18 November 2012 (UTC)
Hi. That's not required. If we would want, we could merge the history but in most cases the uploader does not matter so we can delete the old low-res-ones. In any case we must carefully check before deleting so it wouldn't add a huge time benefit. Thanks for your willingness to help. This is much appreciated. -- Rillke(q?) 14:25, 18 November 2012 (UTC)