User talk:Zhuyifei1999

From Wikimedia Commons, the free media repository
Jump to: navigation, search

{{#useliquidthreads:1}}

This is a Wikimedia Commons user talk page.

This is not an article, file or the talk page of an article or file. If you find this page on any site other than the Wikimedia Commons you are viewing a mirror site. Be aware that the page may be outdated and that the user to whom this talk page belongs may have no personal affiliation with any site other than the Wikimedia Commons itself. The original page is located at https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/User_talk:Zhuyifei1999.

This is the user talk page of Zhuyifei1999, where you can send messages and comments to Zhuyifei1999.
  • Please sign and date your entries by clicking on the appropriate button or by typing four tildes (~~~~) at the end.
  • Put new text under old text.
  • New to Wikimedia Commons? Welcome! Ask questions, get answers as soon as possible.
  • Click here to start a new topic.

বাংলা | български | čeština | Deutsch | Deutsch (Sie-Form)‎ | English | español | français | hrvatski | italiano | 한국어 | മലയാളം | português | русский | sicilianu | 中文 | +/−

  • Be polite.
  • Be friendly.
  • Assume good faith.
  • No personal attacks.



Signbot optout[edit]

Is there no opt-out on a page basis, rather than a user basis? I'd sooner not out for all my edits; just on my own user page. Nfitz (talk) 01:40, 31 January 2018 (UTC)

Do you mean your user talk page? SignBot shouldn't operate on user pages since they are not talk pages. --Zhuyifei1999 (talk) 20:51, 31 January 2018 (UTC)
Of course I mean my user talk page. Are you not aware that it doesn't operate on non-talk pages? Nfitz (talk) 08:24, 4 February 2018 (UTC)
I was referring to your 'just on my own user page'. And no, currently it does not have a per-page opt-out as I was unable to find a use case. Why do you want to make your talk page unsigned? Sandbox edits should go to a proper sandbox, not your talk page. --Zhuyifei1999 (talk) 18:29, 4 February 2018 (UTC)
No visible changes to page should always mean no sig. If the only text is adjusting a comment field, the bot shouldn't be there. Nfitz (talk) 06:31, 11 February 2018 (UTC)
@Nfitz: Just out of curiousity, what is that outcommented block of text on your talk page for? (I should ask on your talk page, but with that block there I'm not even sure that's a good idea..) - Alexis Jazz 11:11, 11 February 2018 (UTC)
@Alexis Jazz: just some notes to myself about stuff that needs fixing or editing here or there. I was trying to avoid creating extra pages. Though that's not really the point. I'll just opt out of the entire bot thing, if there's no way to control it more precisely. Nfitz (talk) 01:19, 20 February 2018 (UTC)
By convention, that belongs to your sandbox. Talk pages are for discussions. --Zhuyifei1999 (talk) 01:31, 20 February 2018 (UTC)
@Nfitz: I agree with Zhuyifei1999, in addition to that, you can give it any name you want. For example User:Nfitz/Notepad. You will not be bothered by any bots if you put your notes there. You can either link to it from your talk- or userpage or bookmark it for easy access. Alternatively you could put your notes directly on your user page at User:Nfitz. It's not entirely conventional, but there is no rule against it and here as well no bots will be bothering you. Your talk page should be available for talk. - Alexis Jazz 01:45, 20 February 2018 (UTC)
@Alexis Jazz: I could put it many, many places. I have no idea, why it's a discussion topic. I also don't know why you are saying my talk page should be available for talk. It is. There is nothing stopping that. The real issue, is that the bot should have more discrete controls. Either way - nothing left to discuss. I'll simply opt out - which is unfortunate for when I do forget to sign elsewhere ... — Preceding unsigned comment added by Nfitz (talk • contribs) 08:34, 20 February 2018‎ (UTC)
That block of outcommented text can make people think (certainly made me doubt) they shouldn't edit the page because they may break something you are working on. And your talk page is the only one for which you automatically get notifications. You could keep your notepad completely unhindered at User:Nfitz or a page like User:Nfitz/Notepad, yet you choose for no obvious reason to keep your notepad on your talk page. If you insist for no good reason to keep your notepad on your talk page, fine. But don't expect other people to adjust their systems to a quirk of yours. They just might if you ask nicely, but if they don't it's not their fault. - Alexis Jazz 20:03, 20 February 2018 (UTC)

FlickreviewR 2[edit]

It seems the bot is operating at around 10 edits / second. Is this a normal speed for it? Artix Kreiger 2 (talk) 14:19, 12 February 2018 (UTC)

From a quick glance at Special:Contributions/FlickreviewR_2 (I have my configuration set to show timestamps in the form of 2018-02-12T19:13:37), I see in the majority of cases at 1 edit per second, some have a 2 to 10 second delay between edits, and a few very large delays like 1 minute 11 seconds and 1 minute 50 seconds. So no, 10 edits per second is not normal, could you point me to a page where you see this behavior?
As for how the bot operates, it follows mw:API:Etiquette#Request_limit, by doing the requests in series. It does not have artificial throttling (such as pywikibot's default of 6 edits/min) or otherwise it would not be able to keep up with the review queue because of tools like flickr2commons. If you are concerned with the server load caused by this bot, yes I was once contacted by operations about the bot, but the results is that the bot cause an insignificant load compared to other events like template editing. --Zhuyifei1999 (talk) 19:06, 12 February 2018 (UTC)
From earlier. Artix Kreiger 2 (talk) 21:06, 12 February 2018 (UTC)
On the page you linked, in Firefox Web console, I executed copy( Array.from( $('.mw-changeslist-date') ).map( e => e.text ).join( '\n' ) ) to copy a linebreak-separated list of timestamps to clipboard, and saved it to a file named timestamps, then I executed in my shell:
The only seconds where the bot did more than once is at 2018-02-12T00:29:19 and 2018-02-12T00:31:31, and in both cases it did only two edits in the same second. --Zhuyifei1999 (talk) 21:23, 12 February 2018 (UTC)
huh? File:2018-02-12 screenshot for Bot.png This is what I saw. Artix Kreiger (talk) 21:28, 12 February 2018 (UTC)
What you saw was in edits in the same minute, not second. --Zhuyifei1999 (talk) 21:38, 12 February 2018 (UTC)
Yeah I know. I thought I point out that for a bit of time, the bot was running a little slow instead of its normal speed. Thought there was a bug or something. Artix Kreiger (talk) 21:45, 12 February 2018 (UTC)

Tech News: 2018-07[edit]

21:59, 12 February 2018 (UTC)


Code issues in User:Zhuyifei1999/sandbox.js[edit]

Hi Zhuyifei1999, I am a bored bot (this is kind of a computer program) that is watching the recent changes and tapping buttons like I did now.

Curious about the reason? Possibly not but I will tell you anyway:

  1. You edited User:Zhuyifei1999/sandbox.js. Glad to see you coding in javascript! Have you ever considered becoming a MediaWiki hacker?
  2. Though, that change appears to introduce 8 new jshint issues -- the page's status is now having warnings. Note that invalid or ambiguous code often has unwanted side effects like breaking other tools for you. If you cannot find out how to fix it, I suggest blanking the page for now.
  3. To help you understanding where the issues are, I have aggregated a report here and now. If you have questions, don't hesitate to ask users experienced in javascript writing for help. But do not ask the bot's operators (chronically overwrought) unless you suspect an error of mine. If you prefer not getting spammed by me, you can opt-out reports by adding {{ValidationOptOut|type=all}} to your user page. Good luck at Wikimedia Commons and happy hacking!
  1. ISSUE: line 271 character 20: This character may get silently deleted by one or more browsers. - Evidence: ml: 'തര്‍ജ്ജമ',
  2. ISSUE: line 632 character 25: Expected a 'break' statement before 'case'. - Evidence: }
  3. ISSUE: line 806 character 48: 'current_dest_file' used out of scope. - Evidence: if ( previous_file === current_dest_file ) {
  4. ISSUE: line 1829 character 54: Confusing use of '!'. - Evidence: if ( elems[ i ].disabled !== !enabled ) {
  5. ISSUE: line 2324 character 33: eval can be harmful. - Evidence: do_submit = eval( UploadForm.oldOnSubmit );
  6. ISSUE: line 2936 character 61: Confusing use of '!'. - Evidence: ( UploadForm.forbiddenFileTypes === null || !( UploadForm.forbiddenFileTypes[ ext ] === true ) );
  7. ISSUE: line 3083 character 37: eval can be harmful. - Evidence: eval( previous_onkeyup_handler );
  8. ISSUE: line 3088 character 37: eval can be harmful. - Evidence: eval( previous_onchange_handler );

Your CommonsMaintenanceBot (talk) at 04:39, 13 February 2018 (UTC).

Unblock[edit]

Hi, your action is very unfortunate. If you would have looked better, you would have seen that the block was more than justified and that it was not just about the INC DRs. This user has been walking on the edge since 2 February and has been warned by several different admins. They have litterally wasted several hours of the time of several admins in the past week. The fact that they respond to warnings by targetting the admins (not just me) who warn him in reports does not make us somehow an 'involved party'. Otherwise from now on every user could continue any disruptive behaviour if they would just file a report on every user who warns them. Your action caused that in case that this user would continue their disruptive behaviour, we would come in a difficult situation, unless you repair your mistake. Reblocking this user may not be fair and not be necessary at this point, but at least you could post a message at their user talk page in which you clearly state that they are not allowed to continue their disruptive behaviour and that they will be blocked again if they do continue this behaviour. Jcb (talk) 15:33, 13 February 2018 (UTC)

Hi. I don't know all the history / background / facts about this user. My quick reading shows that there are at least 5 people disagreeing on the block, although Colin may be correct that some are just disagreeing on how the block was performed, not the block itself. For me to 'warn' the user would be weak -- I'd have to first research on what they have done -- and I do not really intend to have further non-administrative non-technical interactions with them. As for the 'difficult situation', in the case that they continue to be disruptive, please report to one of the AN-s with the diffs to allow a third-party to conclude the same and perform the appropriate administrative action. --Zhuyifei1999 (talk) 17:36, 13 February 2018 (UTC)

FlickreviewR 2[edit]

Question,

Why has the work speed slowed down? Artix Kreiger (talk) 18:49, 14 February 2018 (UTC)

[8] [9] should hopefully make it better. --Zhuyifei1999 (talk) 19:07, 14 February 2018 (UTC)

Video2Commons[edit]

I'm trying to upload a video (Horse shoe Falls Alberta Canada (33367088094)-video) from Flickr with Video2Commons. I started it yesterday, and when I checked today, it was still pending. I aborted that task and resubmitted it, but it seems to be stuck again. Any idea what is going on? --Elisfkc (talk) 17:19, 15 February 2018 (UTC)

Probably related to the meltdown of the physical machine responsible of hosting the instance that does the communication between the backends that runs the tasks and the frontend that shows the interface. I restarted one of the 3 backends and it seems to have started now. There are still some weirdness on the hosts so I'll ask andrew (of Wikimedia Cloud Services team) to look at it before I restart more of the backends. --Zhuyifei1999 (talk) 18:34, 15 February 2018 (UTC)
The backend #1 and #3 are rebooted and now fully functional. #2 is still running the tasks that was started earlier and has been depooled (no more tasks will run on that instance until the service is restarted); the instance is scheduled to reboot at Fri 2018-02-16 19:07:47 UTC so if there are any tasks that was started earlier that is still running by then (unlikely), they will be terminated. After that the system should be completely functional. --Zhuyifei1999 (talk) 19:14, 15 February 2018 (UTC)
Thanks. --Elisfkc (talk) 19:43, 15 February 2018 (UTC)

新年快乐[edit]

Chinese New Year decorations and the Merlion statue, Sentosa, Singapore - 20150222.jpg

Nouvel an chinois 2015 Paris 13 danse du lion cropped.jpg

Happy Lunar New Year! Good health and good fortune (3233557417).jpg

Edmonton Chinese New Year 2015 (16444087956).jpg


Hello Zhuyifei1999,
希望你的新年 Chinese New Year 过得好。. 这将是又一个充满成果的年度 Sending you a heartfelt and warm greetings for this new year.

Kind regards,
Artix Kreiger (talk) 17:54, 15 February 2018 (UTC)(UTC)(UTC)

Structured Data feedback - What gets stored where (Ontology)[edit]

Greetings,

There is a new feedback request for Structured Data on Commons (link for messages posted to Commons: , regarding what metadata from a file gets stored where. Your participation is appreciated.

Happy editing to you. Keegan (WMF) (talk) 22:58, 15 February 2018 (UTC)

Tech News: 2018-08[edit]

22:54, 19 February 2018 (UTC)

Action needed :)[edit]

Hello! I am writing to you because your name is on the Tech Ambassadors list.

Per my previous message on your talk page on Meta, we're making some progress over getting a Phabricator workboard through which we can coordinate communal work. Please confirm that https://phabricator.wikimedia.org/p/zhuyifei1999/ is your account there, by adding it to the table on Meta. (Documentation is available if you want to create a new account instead.)

Finally, a friendly reminder to keep an eye on both your talk page on Meta and m:Talk:Tech/Ambassadors/List! Your voice matters and I want to make sure that we don't miss it. Thanks! Elitre (WMF) (talk) 13:25, 20 February 2018 (UTC)