Commons:Wikimaps/Wikimaps Tartu–Hong Kong

From Wikimedia Commons, the free media repository
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Wikimaps Tartu–Hong Kong is a series of events where the Wikimaps process will be demonstrated.

Events[edit]

  1. Workshop at the State of the Map Baltics, Tartu, Aug 4, 2013, 9:30 EEST (23:30 PDT (Aug 3), 2:30 EDT, 7:30 BST, 8:30 CEST, 9:30 EEST, 12:00 IST, 14:30 HKT)
    • Old Tartu maps have been uploaded to Wikimedia Commons by Rahvusarhiiv (National Archives), Rahvusraamatukogu (National Library) and the Library of Tartu University.
    • Workshopping reuse possibilities for old Tartu maps
    • Workshop notes
  2. Wikimaps geodata roundtable at the DevCamp in Wikimania, Hong Kong, Aug 7, 2013, 15:30 HKT (0:30 PDT, 3:30 EDT, 8:30 BST, 9:30 CEST, 10:30 EEST, 13:00 IST)
  3. Wikimaps presentation Aug 10, 2013, 16:00 HKT (BST 9:00 - CEST 10:00 - EEST 11:00 - IST 13:30)
    • Open Historical Map code sprint later that night during daytime in the US (~ 00:00 HKT = 12:00 EDT = 9:00 PDT)
    • Demonstrating the digitizing process together with the OHM, using the Tartu maps.
    • Presentation pad

Materials[edit]

Maps[edit]

Maps
1892
Plan der Stadt Dorpat
Rahvusarhiiv 
late 19th century
Плань города Юрьева
Rahvusarhiiv 
1910
Pharus-Plan Dorpat
Tartu University 
1914
Tartu linna plaan
Rahvusarhiiv 
circa 1920
Tartu linna plaan
Rahvusarhiiv 
1921
Tartu linna ja ümbruse plaan
Rahvusarhiiv 
1937
Tartu linna plaan
National Library of Estonia 
circa 1937
Tartu linna plaan
Rahvusarhiiv 
1941
Damages of war in Tartu
National Library of Estonia 
circa 1949
Tartu linna plaan
Rahvusarhiiv 
circa 1949
Tartu linna plaan
Rahvusarhiiv 
1978
Тарту
National Library of Estonia 
1986
Tartu turismiskeem
National Library of Estonia 

Tools[edit]

  • Wikimaps Warper
  1. Select any of the maps above and click open it.
  2. Click on the warper link (first row in the metadata)
  3. You will be transferred to Wikimaps Warper to view the map overlaid on a map or to have it rectified if it has not previously been so.
  • Open Historical Map
    Try out digitizing a historical map
  1. In Wikimaps Warper, viewing your maps, select 'export' tab.
  2. Copy the link 'Tiles (Google/OSM scheme)'
  3. Goto Open Historical map. Register if needed
  4. Goto your location (Click on http://www.openhistoricalmap.org/edit?lat=58.37980&lon=26.72333&zoom=18 for Tartu)
  5. Click on "Edit map"
  6. Select layer icon on the left edge or hit 'b'
  7. Select Custom
  8. Paste the link in the dialogue box
  9. Start editing

Documentation[edit]

Pictures from the Tartu workshop.[edit]

Blog posts etc[edit]