Commons:Wiki Loves Africa 2017/Media

From Wikimedia Commons, the free media repository
Jump to navigation Jump to search

WIKI LOVES AFRICA 2017 MEDIA
The photo contest around Africa,

Wiki Loves Africa (WLA) is an annual contest where people across Africa can contribute media (photographs, video and audio) about their environment on Wikimedia Commons for use on Wikipedia and other project websites of the Wikimedia Foundation. Wiki Loves Africa particularly encourages participants to contribute media that illustrate a specific theme for that year. Each year the theme changes and could include any universal, visually rich and culturally specific topic (for example, markets, rites of passage, festivals, public art, cuisine, natural history, urbanity, daily life, notable persons, etc).

Theme for 2017

The theme for the 2014 photo contest was Cuisine. In 2015 it was Cultural Fashion and Adornment. In 2016 it was Music and Dance.

The contest in 2017 is the fourth year of this proposed annual contest and the theme is People at work.

How the competition is organised

The project is a two-month competition which will start on the 1st October 2017 and end on the 30th November. The project will run across the entire continental. However, there are ten groups of Wikipedians that have volunteered to host specific actions (training, upload events, communications, etc.) in their countries. These countries are Tunisia, Egypt, Ivory Coast, Uganda, Nigeria, Algeria, Tanzania, Ghana, Cameroon, Malawi, Ethiopia, Mali, and Zimbabwe. In addition, there are several groups of individuals within Africa, and Wikimedia groups outside Africa that are also involved.

The project is a contest where, after the contest closes, the best media at the continental level are selected and prizes are awarded. An international jury will determine the best entries for the continental competition. Where there are local organising groups, they will decide to organise (or not) judging and local prizes for their country.

Wiki Loves Africa is supported by WikiAfrica, hosted by Ynternet.org and is funded by the Wikimedia Foundation via a PEG grant.

Winners and prizes

There will be several winners.

  • 1st prize: US$600
  • 2nd prize: US$400
  • 3rd prize: US$200
  • Organizer price: US$200
  • Photo Essay Prizes : Women Working US$200
  • Photo Essay Prizes : Rare, Fading or Threatened Traditional Craft, Style or Way of Working US$200

In addition, some countries will host national ceremonies and national prizes.

Press contacts per country

This space aims to link press contacts where available.

  • Africa: Isla Haddow-Flood: isla@wikiinafrica.org
  • Europe: Florence Devouard: fdevouard@anthere.org
  • Algeria: Mohammed Bachounda: bachounda@gmail.com or Reda Kerbouche: press@wikimedia-dz.org
  • Côte d'Ivoire : Evrard Aka : evrardaka1@gmail.com Stephane Kra: stephanekra2@gmail.com Donatien Kanga: donatien.kanga@gmail.com
  • Nigeria: Sam Oyeyele: samoye_@hotmail.com
  • Cameroon: Georges Fodouop: georges_fodouop@yahoo.fr or Aminou Ndala TITA: aminou20022001@yahoo.com
  • Tunisia: Emna Mizouni: emna.mizouni@gmail.com
  • Uganda: Mulumba Ivan matthias: mimulumba@gmail.com
  • Ghana: Stella Agbley: sagbley@gmail.com and Raphael Berchie: rberchie@gmail.com
  • Tanzania: Maryam Mgonja: maryam.mgonjah@gmail.com and Steve Bukulu: stevebukulu@gmail.com
  • Ethiopia:Nebiyu Sultan: nebiyu.sultan@cc.org.et
  • Malawi: Mwizalero Nyirenda: mwizaleronyirenda@gmail.com
  • Zimbabwe: Isla Haddow-Flood: isla@wikiinafrica.org
  • Mali:N'fana Diakité: nfanadiakite92@gmail.com

Documents

Press releases

Marketing materials

Theme-based marketing material

Generic marketing material

Reports in the media

Wikimedia coverage

Indirect

Others

Wiki-Loves-Africa-logo.png
Home:Upload here
Home
Facebook profile
Facebook profile
Twitter profile
Twitter profile
Uploaded images
What's going on in my country?
FAQ
Help Desk
Lifebelt and man icon.svg
Media information
Newspaper Cover.svg