Commons:Bots/Requests/FlickreviewR (clone)

From Wikimedia Commons, the free media repository
Jump to: navigation, search

FlickreviewR 2 (talk · contribs)

Operator: Zhuyifei1999 (talk · contributions · Number of edits · recent activity · block log · User rights log · uploads · Global account information)

Bot's tasks for which permission is being sought: Clone of User:FlickreviewR since it is sometimes inactive and toolserver will be shutting down. Requested at Commons:Bots/Work_requests#FlickreviewR_is_not_working

Automatic or manually assisted: Automatic

Edit type (e.g. Continuous, daily, one time run): Daily

Maximum edit rate (e.g. edits per minute): mwclient or script default

Bot flag requested: (Y/N): Y

Programming language(s): python: mwclient. Cloned from

Zhuyifei1999 (talk) 10:43, 13 November 2013 (UTC)


Please do some testruns (I hope the source repositiry is exactly the same data as used by the original Bot). I suggest to upload images:

  1. with lower res and observe it uploading the higher res versions
  2. tag one image with -by-sa license with the original having just -by and observe it changing the license
  3. upload images where originals are ARR or ND/NC versions and observe proper tagging by the bot

--Denniss (talk) 12:44, 13 November 2013 (UTC)

  1. Test run done at [1]
  2. I "svn co" ed it, and changed 2 parts:
    1. Added login information
    2. Removing logging in the database (unable to figure out the table layout)
  3. I'm not really familiar with "mwclient" framework yet, so it may be implemented in the future. --Zhuyifei1999 (talk) 14:55, 13 November 2013 (UTC)
Looks OK for me. --Steinsplitter (talk) 15:11, 13 November 2013 (UTC)

Pictogram voting comment.svg Comment Zhuyifei1999, one problem FlickreviewR had which never got fixed is that it verified that flickr page had a proper license; however it did not check if image on commons had the same license or even if it had a license. Would it be possible to add this to the code? However I consider this a minor enhancement which should not be blocking potential nomination. --Jarekt (talk) 14:32, 14 November 2013 (UTC)

Yep, get it to work first, then think about improvements. One of the improvement could be the addition of a named link to the photographers page as part of the author attribution if no other attributon is present in the license tag. --Denniss (talk) 23:42, 14 November 2013 (UTC)
@Jarekt: seem already in there (the lines near "# License on Flickr and Commons differ" on
@Denniss: Could you please explain a little more, such as what code to let the bot place as the license? --Zhuyifei1999 (talk) 10:22, 15 November 2013 (UTC)
I remember some images that got a positive review while there was no license tag present but at least the verified license was shown in the review tag comment. The Bot is able to change some license to the license specified at Flickr. And for the attribution see my example at File:Pandanus spiralis fruit.jpg (attribution added to license tag, may also be present with 1=, author= or attribution= command). --Denniss (talk) 10:42, 15 November 2013 (UTC)
  1. I think this is almost impossible (unless the file has a license category link without transcluding a license tag) if the bot checks categories.
  2.  Doing… --Zhuyifei1999 (talk) 11:37, 15 November 2013 (UTC)
  • Somehow original bot stopped working since yesterday, so this bot can be run for another test run. —레비Revi 06:43, 2 February 2014 (UTC)
    Seems it was Toolserver problem, and original bot is working again. —레비Revi 07:41, 4 February 2014 (UTC)
    @Zhuyifei1999: Do you still have the need for this bot now that FlickreviewR is active again, or can we close this request? odder (talk) 20:54, 9 February 2014 (UTC)
    I think we can approved bot, and only run when original is dead. ToolServer is not that stable, and bot may stop occasionally. —레비Revi 02:55, 10 February 2014 (UTC)
    Symbol keep vote.svg Agree and note that labs is also unstable. --Zhuyifei1999 (talk) 06:47, 10 February 2014 (UTC)
    ✓ Done; please make sure to run the bot only when the original one is not working. odder (talk) 13:51, 25 February 2014 (UTC)