From Wikimedia Commons, the free media repository
Jump to: navigation, search

IndareviewR (talk · contribs)

Operator: Rillke

Bot's tasks for which permission is being sought: Reviewing 0 images in Category:Indafotó review needed

Automatic or manually assisted: supervised

Edit type one time run: batch wise

Maximum edit rate (eg edits per minute): 20/min

Bot flag requested: (N): Not for technical reasons.

Programming language(s): MS VisualBasic/ ComponentObjectModel

RE rillke questions? 20:47, 2 December 2011 (UTC)



  • TgrBot (talk · contribs) missed to review its uploads. It used RegExes to determine the license. I hope the bot-author will reply to the open questions here. We have now a backlog of 0 in Category:Indafotó review needed. The longer we wait, the more likely it is that licenses will change or images will disappear. It is impossible to do this task manually in an appropriate time.


  • This semi-automatic bot uses XHTML-Parsers to find the right node containing the information and then uses regular expressions to verify the license and author and to get the path to the image.


  • Is direct image comparison needed? (this is not implemented yet) Or can we rely on TgrBot, that it uploaded the right image?
  • Should the editrate be throttled?
  • It needs the image-reviewer group but I am not sure whether a bot-flag is required. I don't think so. — Preceding unsigned comment added by Rillke (talk • contribs) 20:47, December 2, 2011‎ (UTC)

Hi rillke! TgrBot used feedparser to go through the RSS feed for the wikilovesmonuments tag on Indafoto; image URLs could be extracted from that feed, so for them the process is relatively non-messy. (It is possible that the bot missed the image with best resolution as it relied on the ordering of some XML elements, but I don't see any possibility of it finding a completely unrelated image.) License and monument ID had to be parsed from the description page of the image, that part is more error-prone. On the other hand, some Indafoto users have changed licenses or deleted their images in the meantime; Indafoto has no history-like functions, so there is no way to verify either short of contacting the uploader.

I hope this information helped; if you have any other questions, just ask (please drop a note about it on my talkpage, I am unlikely to find out about it otherwise). I would also be happy to share or publish the bot code if you want to review it. --Tgr (talk) 21:38, 2 December 2011 (UTC)

I would be very happy to see the images be reviewed botwise. Manually it is a huge job to be done. I have tried to easy work by using AWB, but that does not speed up enormously. I did find wrong licenses and deleted images a couple of times, but not a single wrong match between the images. In my opinion, strengthened after reading the explanation by Tgr, image comparison is not needed. Kind regards, Lymantria (talk) 08:02, 3 December 2011 (UTC)
  • Please make a test run. --EugeneZelenko (talk) 15:55, 3 December 2011 (UTC)
    • In order to do so, I will assign the image-reviewer right. This is required in order not to
    1. Trigger the abuse-filter
    2. Don't be stopped by a CAPTCHA question
-- RE rillke questions? 16:33, 3 December 2011 (UTC)

✓ Done -- RE rillke questions? 23:48, 3 December 2011 (UTC)

Test run looks OK for me. --EugeneZelenko (talk) 15:56, 4 December 2011 (UTC)
Yes, this looks fine. Kind regards, Lymantria (talk) 16:29, 4 December 2011 (UTC)
Can I run the bot now? If problems arise, you know where to find me. -- RE rillke questions? 22:49, 4 December 2011 (UTC)
  • Pictogram-voting-question.svg Question Does the bot check if the file is the same? If yes: Cool - start the bot! If no: What if someone else than TgrBot (talk · contribs) uploads files? Sould the bot not check if the file is the same? --MGA73 (talk) 08:45, 5 December 2011 (UTC)
    I think the bot should work only on TgrBot's uploads. Probably there are 20-30 other uploaded pictures (mainly uploaded by me), easy to finish by hand. Samat (talk) 09:29, 5 December 2011 (UTC)
    • Ok. The "bot" now compares Exif-Date (yyyy-mm-dd hh:mm) and Exif-Model. If these information are not available, it only passes uploads by TgrBot or Samat, provided that other information (author, license) are correct. Image comparison would extremely slow down the speed and increase the server load. Does everyone agree? -- RE rillke questions? 10:46, 5 December 2011 (UTC)
  • I think it is important that we are 100 % sure that bot only reviews files that are the same. Once the backlog is gone it should not be a big problem for bot or toolserver that it takes longer. So I think it is ok if it takes longer to review an image. Even if it takes 10 or 20 seconds or (how long?).
I think it will be ok to check the files uploaded by TgrBot without a reduced check per arguments above. --MGA73 (talk) 18:24, 5 December 2011 (UTC)
      • I start it now. It will only pass images uploaded by TgrBot or Samat. -- RE rillke questions? 18:30, 5 December 2011 (UTC)

Well since someone else has done it, this request can now be closed. It's just annoying if you create something, invest a lot of time and then encounter, that it was mainly wasted. -- RE rillke questions? 19:15, 3 December 2011 (UTC)

  • Pictogram voting comment.svg Comment Well... I have been reviewing a lot of files and I did not know that there was a bot request open. There is still 1,386 files left and new files are still being uploaded so I think that a bot to review the files is a good idea. --MGA73 (talk) 19:47, 3 December 2011 (UTC)
  • Pictogram voting comment.svg Comment Thank you for your help. Please collect all pictures with problem on User talk:Tgr, and I will write a message to the original uploaders. Samat (talk) 09:04, 4 December 2011 (UTC)
  • Pictogram voting comment.svg Comment User:Betacommand made a list a few days ago and some of the files were cc-by-sa-2.5 at that time and now they are all rights reserved. I therefore think that files should be reviewed ASAP. Once the bot is working 100 % correct I think it should be allowed to go at full speed to get the files reviewed. Can reduce speed later to whatever is more appropiate. --MGA73 (talk) 15:39, 4 December 2011 (UTC)
  • I've written a letter to Treasure, and he's changed back all licences to free licences.
Images on Indafotó and on Wikimedia Commons:
(sorry for external links, but this way was easier to me now).
Samat (talk) 18:41, 4 December 2011 (UTC)
  • Pictogram voting comment.svg Comment: Hopefully someone can marks them ASAP. The license is either cc by generic OR cc by sa generic right now. Regards, --Leoboudv (talk) 19:12, 4 December 2011 (UTC)