User talk:FlickreviewR/bad-authors

From Wikimedia Commons, the free media repository
Jump to: navigation, search
For using the automated tool for adding users to the black lists, JavaScript enabled in your browser is required. Also, you must have the required privileges.
Yes check.svg JavaScript is active.
Button normal.svg JavaScript is disabled in your browser.
This is a dashboard widget.

List needs updating again, please update the new users added after February 7th 2011. A hell lot of new Flickrwashing accounts. --Denniss (talk) 16:59, 22 April 2011 (UTC)

will do this. For the record for admins without deeper computer knowledge: update goes quickly with copy&pasting the whole page of Commons:Questionable Flickr images/Users to a txt file. Use text replacement to replace all | with a tab or ; and copy&paste the whole think to Excel, then you have the flickr IDs separated in one column that you can sort and copy here. --Martin H. (talk) 20:31, 22 April 2011 (UTC)


Please add 8612652@N05 to the list. See Commons:Deletion requests/File:Maynard kickin it.jpg for details. --Stefan4 (talk) 00:08, 31 August 2012 (UTC)

✓ Done Thanks for the catch. Sven Manguard Wha? 01:06, 1 September 2012 (UTC)

Data Sync problem[edit]

Please always note questionable users at the centralized discussion. User-ID added to this list should also be added to Commons:Questionable Flickr images/Users so no entry gets lost if someone syncs the ID list with the Users listed there. Thank you. --Denniss (talk) 07:47, 1 September 2012 (UTC)


{{Edit protected}} Please add 14829735@N00 to the list. See Commons:Deletion requests/Files uploaded by Duncan.Hull for details. --Art-top (talk) 08:12, 29 September 2012 (UTC)

Please also add 62465723@N04. See en:Wikipedia:Possibly unfree files/2012 September 30#File:Sharon C Glotzer.jpeg for details. --Stefan4 (talk) 22:11, 30 September 2012 (UTC)
First done. Second not done based on the outcome (OTRS ticket by uploader received). You are both good admin candidates. Give it try! Please apply! COM:RFA -- Rillke(q?) 18:34, 8 October 2012 (UTC)
Please read #Data Sync problem. Thanks in advance. -- Rillke(q?) 18:38, 8 October 2012 (UTC)

66463488@N06 (Doha Stadium Plus Qatar)[edit]

What's the problem? --ManFromNord (talk) 13:02, 3 February 2013 (UTC)

There was a problem, but we fixed it. I thought we removed the stream from the list. -mattbuck (Talk) 13:12, 3 February 2013 (UTC)
Thanks! --ManFromNord (talk) 13:19, 3 February 2013 (UTC)

Possible addition[edit]

See: File:NolanTDKR.jpg, File:NolanTDKR 2.jpg, and . The Flickr user doesn't look very much like the exif photographer.--Canoe1967 (talk) 19:27, 2 July 2013 (UTC)

Actually, most of the flickr-stream content was stolen from
In future, please request adding users at Commons talk:Questionable Flickr images. Thank you! -- Rillke(q?) 10:35, 10 August 2013 (UTC)

Please add 102589296@N05[edit]

Please add = all files grabbed from internet and then uploaded here by Flickr washer User:Sp-sorocaba. Gunnex (talk) 16:53, 21 September 2013 (UTC)

✓ Done -- Rillke(q?) 17:38, 21 September 2013 (UTC)
In future, please request adding users at Commons talk:Questionable Flickr images. Thank you! -- Rillke(q?) 17:38, 21 September 2013 (UTC)

Why is this user on the list?[edit] Palosirkka (talk) 19:19, 11 November 2013 (UTC)

Looks like they renege the license on their profile page... fuckers.

"All our pictures are free of charge for EU-related information and education purposes, but please credit us © European Union, [year]

For any other use, prior clearance must be obtained from the The European Commission's Humanitarian Aid and Civil Protection department (ECHO)." Palosirkka (talk) 19:25, 11 November 2013 (UTC)

See also Commons:Questionable Flickr images Too many images in their Stream that are not their own or with "Editorial use only" restriction in Exif. At best license status is unclear. You may, however ask them for clarification. -- Rillke(q?) 10:46, 2 December 2013 (UTC)

Slight change in format[edit]

UploadWizard will respect this blacklist now,[1] as requested in bug 42307. It also checks for usernames (the ones you can see in the URL), and it will interpret every word on the page as a username - please prefix comment lines with #. --Tgr (WMF) (talk) 23:27, 17 January 2014 (UTC)

  1. actually, when the current MediaWiki master branch gets deployed - should be about 3 weeks
  • Just a word filter is only a partial implementation as a username may be changed at Flickr but the underlying ID never changes. UW needs to resolve any non-ID username and then compare the ID to the blacklist. But at least it's a start. I don't change the first line to a comment as I'm unsure about possible side effects, possibly breaking other tools. But I have asked Rillke as he knows this stuff better.--Denniss (talk) 11:17, 18 February 2014 (UTC)
    • As far as I understand that, both the nsid and the path_alias are retrieved from flickr and both are checked against this blacklist. -- Rillke(q?) 15:41, 18 February 2014 (UTC)
    • Format change: I don't even know whether bryan's bot is still running. Additionally, I don't know whether other tools are depending on this list. But I guess one of Lupo's and Flominator's tools (something on do. All I know is that I've to slightly amend MediaWiki:Gadget-dashboard.AddToFlickrBlacklist.js so thanks for pinging. -- Rillke(q?) 15:41, 18 February 2014 (UTC)
    • Yes, Flinfo does use this list. Note that changing the syntax may break Bryan's bot, which evidently still runs and is very valuable. Adding the hash on that first line now won't break Flinfo. Lupo 20:16, 19 February 2014 (UTC)
      Looking at the source of Bryan's bot at [1], I don't see it using this blacklist at all. Strange, I thought it did check this list? Why else would the list be at this location?
      However, there are various Flickr upload bots. At least Magnus's Flickr2Commons used to check this list, too. (IIRC, an early version actually did it by asking Flinfo for the image info. Not sure what it does nowadays. If it still does rely on Flinfo for this, it's fine.) Flinfo is updated now and can handle either version of the blacklist. Lupo 22:31, 19 February 2014 (UTC)
      • Bryan's Review Bot does check the list, the upload bot doesn't. I also pinged Zhuyifei1999 as he set up a Review bot clone, he may answer this for sure. Magnus pinged as well on his talk page. anyone else known with Flickr-related Tools/Bots? --Denniss (talk) 00:01, 20 February 2014 (UTC)
        Could you please show me where exactly in the code FlickreviewR checks this list? I just don't see it in [2]. Maybe that's the wrong source? Lupo 07:18, 20 February 2014 (UTC)
        Can confirm Lupo above. I have tried to read and tried to find any possibility of the script checking this list, but so far I see nothing related. $ grep -r bad-authors . in Bryan's svn repo also returns no result. However, I'm not sure the script FlickrevirewR is running is exactly same as the public one in the svn repo/fisheye, although the public one also does the same checking as the running one. --Zhuyifei1999 (talk) 09:11, 20 February 2014 (UTC)
        Now reading that, I remember Commons_talk:Questionable_Flickr_images/Archive_4#Freedom House/syriafreedom -- Rillke(q?) 10:39, 20 February 2014 (UTC)
        It's indeed possible the public version is not the same as the running version, I suggest you mail Bryan and ask for confirmation/sources. At some time in the past it wasn't using the Blacklist but colected files where the review tag was added or changed by someone else than noted as reviewer, now it uses the blacklist but doesn't collect the review info anymore (last edit at User:FlickreviewR/Images never editted by their reviewer in 11/2012. If someone could take over the upload Bot with the aim to move it to Labs and have it respect the blacklist + update to avoid dupes this would be a major relief for Admins and reviewers. --Denniss (talk) 10:47, 20 February 2014 (UTC)
        I have implemented the requested change, the review bot still works and Flinfo seem to work as well, license review script as well. Probably need to check again tomorrow. --Denniss (talk) 13:06, 20 February 2014 (UTC)
        Thanks Denniss! The first line was already a comment, so I doubt any tool could be affected by changing a character in it. As for username changes, Rillke is correct: UploadWizard checks both the user's NSID and path_info (the name in the URL, not the same thing as what Flickr calls the username) and stops if either one is in the blacklist. The path_info does not exist for a new user, and can be created at any time, but once it has been created, it cannot be changed anymore. (I didn't add any check for the normal username, because that one can be changed at any time, so it would only cause trouble.) --Tgr (WMF) (talk) 20:58, 21 February 2014 (UTC)

Please add 119892955@N06[edit]

|- | himanisdas | | 119892955@N06 | profile: num num2
photos: num num2 | Flickrwashing of Getty images

cheers, —SpacemanSpiff 08:25, 27 June 2014 (UTC)

✓ Done. just found (© Vidhu S/500px)(Bing United Kingdom) -- Rillke(q?) 08:54, 27 June 2014 (UTC)
Thanks, I've tagged all the washed files. I presume that the 2-3 left over are ok. Unfortunately, this is a flickr account being run by a long time editor.—SpacemanSpiff 08:57, 27 June 2014 (UTC)
I'd actually delete all images: Flick user registered in 2014, images with strange exif and low res = indication for pure washing account. --Denniss (talk) 14:11, 29 June 2014 (UTC)

existing files with sources from bad authors list[edit]

Hello. I currently see 2325 files which refer to IDs from the bad authors list. Is it correct that all of them should be deleted right away, or is it possible that some of them are ok? --Krd 09:54, 21 September 2014 (UTC)

Not all of them are completely bad, some are on the list because their portfolio has a mix of clearly own work images mangled with images from other sources without either stating so or accidentally offering them under free license. Some are/were image collectors with files from everywhere and only those confirmed as free images were kept, usually applies to US Fedgov images. Only those were block reasons clearly state flickrwashing or pure copyvios should be deleted. --Denniss (talk) 20:05, 21 September 2014 (UTC)
I see two scenarios:
a) Flickr account carries mix of obvious copyvios and other photographs which could be or could not be own work of the user. Are the latter to be kept or deleted per COM:PCP if not PD-whatever?
b) When a Flickr account gets listed here because Commons User:XY uploads files from there, is it also be checked if there are already other files from this Flickr account present at Commons uploaded by other users, which then should be reviewed?
--Krd 06:28, 22 September 2014 (UTC)

For case a these uploads have usually already been dealt with so no reason to change anything here, they were added for PCP to prevent further automated uploads. For case b it's usually done (at least by me) once added to the blocklist. As this has most likely never been donw before, could you compile a list of images from blocked Flickr users, both active and from inactive list? --Denniss (talk) 06:56, 22 September 2014 (UTC)

I've put a first guess at User:Krd/Test (4532 entries). --Krd 15:33, 22 September 2014 (UTC)